A Preview of What is to Come


This is a preview of the… “story”… that I’ve been writing. It’ll be finished someday. Provided that demons don’t start spilling forth from my heater vents and vomiting all over my keyboard in a few hours like believers in the Rapture seem to believe.
Let me know what you think, if you do think. Also, subscribe and tell all your friends. If you have those.
Thanks.
-zadoubleq

The ground is especially shiny tonight.

The Stars smile up from the pavement, displaying their benevolence in the reflective concrete.  In reality, these tiny specks of light are colossal engines of destruction, spraying fire and chaos through the universe until their inevitable demise; And when they do meet their unfortunate end, their fury is increased tenfold.  They swallow entire solar systems, desperately destroying all life within their grasp.  The wrath of a star is unlike any other.

But these, like so many gods and goddesses of past eons, smile upon me. They harbor no ill will. For whatever reason, they seem to like me.  Rather than torturing my fragile planet with inextinguishable flames and death, they gently caress the earth, feeding it, giving it life. They make the earth beautiful.

I look down.  The sidewalk that had so faithfully guided my steps only moments ago seems suddenly cold and harsh. Its love is conditional and unfeeling…  Unlike the stars…

I gaze deeply into the asphalt, admiring the power and grace of the universe. They stare back, warm and reassuring. Time becomes a foreign concept. Why limit or measure existence with mere numbers?

The stars spin, encircling a single space, void of life or death.  They call attention to it. They worship it.  As each second passes, the void seems more desolate and sinister than the last.

The stars’ cosmic game of ring-around the-rosy quietly accelerates until the individual stars are indistinguishable from the infinitely bright circle of cosmic behemoths.

As I watch, i feel nauseated. My stomach seems to scream in agony, as if the gravitational pull of the celestial display had been transferred directly to the turkey sandwich I ate for lunch. I fall to my knees, whimpering.  My eyes stay locked with the phenomenon in the pavement.

They spin. And spin. And spin. It seems as if time itself has grown old and died.  The benevolent mask the stars previously wore has been replaced by a gruesome and malicious glare.

Why would the stars lie? Why would they deceive me? What have I done to deserve this?

My turkey sandwich has hit the “EJECT” button.

My eyes close of their own accord as gallons of stomach acid and partially digested food rip their way out of my body. Never before have I felt such cruelty and sadism from the hands of my own digestive system. The evils of Satan himself cannot compare to the relentless twisting of my stomach. Even the digestive juices that succeeded in their escape scream their hatred and loathing at me while attempting to burn past the fragile layers of my skin.

I open my eyes timidly.  The world is darker than before. Everything is harsh and piercing. The once softly swaying blades of grass stand at attention in hopes of impaling some unfortunate passer-by. The trees, once supplying oxygen to the fleshy beings of the planet, grow tall and menacing, announcing their opposition to human progress. The cars and suburban dwellings smile ominously, plotting the sabotage of the human race.

Everything has become hostile… Everything but the stars. They’ve stopped spinning. They still maintain their circular formation, but they’ve stopped spinning. That alone makes everything better.
I feel stronger. Better. I have hope.

I stand up slowly. My joints and muscles are reluctant to support my weight, but the stars are beckoning to me. Pulsing.  They are the key. They are my salvation.

The first step I take into the street brightens the world around me.  Everything becomes lighter, more optimistic. Is it destiny? Fate? Divine Intervention? The next step must be taken.

And the next. And the next.  The progression is so beautiful… Every step increases the positive energy of the universe. The stars pulse and vibrate as I near them. What I wouldn’t give to make this moment last forever.

Am I in love?

I reach the circle of the stars, and they separate, inviting me into the center.  They know what will happen. They want it to happen.

They close the circle behind me.  Immediately they start spinning, and my stomach’s rage returns, forcing me to my knees once more.  It tries to purge itself. In vain. My retching and heaving yields only saliva and bitter mucus.

My stomach realizes the futility of its efforts and releases its grip. Slowly.

Void and emptiness gaze up at me from the center of the circle.  Laughing, they mock me. They cackle at my naiveté in staccato bursts of auditory violence.

Never before…. Never before had I been aware of the universe as I am now. Vivid images of human emotion flash before my eyes. The tears and pain of abandoned children who will never know how it feels to be held by their mother.  The forgotten dreams of a mother dying in childbirth.  The bitter regret of never saying goodbye to a loved one.  The regret of a man on his deathbed looking back at an unfulfilled life.

 The collective sorrow and pain of the universe descends upon me,  filling every empty space in my being and overflowing, forcing itself out in the form of tears agonized screams.

The cackles of the void are gone. The world is silent except for my own desperate cries and a soft hum.  I feel suddenly out of place.  An intruder.  I beg my screams to be silent. They laugh at my request, growing even louder. I bite my tongue as hard as I can manage. My vision is blurred with a different brand of tears, and the taste of blood overcomes the taste of vomit — But the screams die down. Slightly. They remain, but only as whimpers. It’ll have to do.

With my own screams pacified, the hum seems louder… It is louder. And getting louder by the second. Confusion pierces my skull.

I close my eyes, listening, trying to determine where I’ve heard such a sound before; The hum is ethereal.  No earthly sound is so assertive.

I open my eyes.

The light that greets me is by far the coldest light I have ever felt in my life. My eyes quickly adjust to this visual onslaught, and I find that it is not one light, but two;  two incredibly bright lights moving at an incredible speed. In my direction.

They race each other — Determined, angry, cold.  They both want the glory of reaching me before the other.

I kneel on the pavement, slack-jawed and unable to move.  Wonder and awe flood my very existence. Pain? Misery? Anger? Hatred? Happiness? Joy? Life itself?  These things are part of a past that is not my own.  I am more.  This is more than life.  Something bigger than me exists. It sees me. It knows me. It guides me.

The lights are only milliseconds from greeting me.  I smile, greeting them with open arms.

~ by ZAdoubleQ on May 21, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
